A-Z Challenge day 9

I for It

When I was about 14 years old, I read “It” by Stephen King for the first time. I remember it well, I took the book everywhere and I read it in about a week.

To this day, it is still one of my all time favourites. First I read it in german, then in english and a couple of weeks ago I listened to the audio book, and it is still as fascinating as it was before.

I never really could explain what the fascination was exactly, but over the last couple of weeks I have been thinking about it, and I guess it was the fact that as a kid I was an outsider as well. I could easily relate to the group of losers, because I was one myself. No friends, spending most of my time reading or outside grooming the horse of a neighbour and spending most of my spare time there.

Eventually I was allowed to start horse-riding, and that´s where I met a couple of girls (and one boy 😉 ) and we became a very close-knit group, kind of like the kids in the book, just without the clown haha.

We worked at the stables so we didn´t really have to pay for our riding lessons, and we more or less lived there during the summer holidays. It was the best time of my life, and that is probably one reason why I like the book so much, because it brings back memories.

Obviously, the horror part of the book doesn´t have anything to do with me, but I always loved a good horror story. Not so much into films, just the books. Mostly because I  don´t really have a good visual imagination, but if I actually see it, it freaks me out. Plus, I never have seen a really good film made from any of my favourite books, so I just stick with reading.

And that´s what I keep doing, reading every good book I can lay my hands on.

Have a great week

Mimi

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “A-Z Challenge day 9

  1. Oooh I love Stephen Kings books! The first one I read was Misery, then Cujo. I saw the movie the Shining, and also Shawshank Redemption but haven’t read the books of those. Around the same time, I was reading James Herbert’s Rats, Fluke, and The Fog. My bookshelves are groaning with books, and I have just finished The Book Thief (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Book_Thief) which is very good, and Skallagrigg (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Skallagrigg) I have just finished the first couple of chapters so I’m still deciding, haha! Do you have an e-reader, or do you prefer paper books?

    Like

    1. I´ve read all of those, even the James Herbert ones, I´ve got about every book of Stephen King I could get my hands on. I´ve loads of books, our house is like a library, and it took me quite a while to try an e-reader, but they have their perks, now I´ve got the kindle on my mobile, so when I sit at the doctors I just use that. Much better than carrying a book especially when on crutches 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes I agree that a Kindle is better when your hands are full. I flit between a book and my e reader (a Kobo, you may not have heard of it really, but its alright I guess) Just now I have a few craft books on the go, but there’s nothing like a good story 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Craft books are hardly ever available as e-books I think and for good reason, I don´t think it would really work on an e-reader. I´ve got plenty of those as well 🙂
        True I haven´t heard of a Kobo, but it doesn´t really matter, they are all pretty good, and with the kindle you are kind of tied to amazon, but I got if as a gift from my daughter, so I´m not complaining lol

        Like

Leave a Reply

