A-Z Challenge day 11

K for Klick

As I said before, I am really trying to lose weight. And I think this time it is actually going to work. It´s like there is a switch in my head and it finally klicked.

Maybe it´s the book I´ve been reading, it certainly helped a great deal, and maybe it is the possibility that if I don´t, I might end up in a wheelchair or even die, that made me stronger, but at the moment I am doing really well.

Instead of feeling bad about the things I am not allowed to eat, I try to see it more as a contest. I stick to 3 meals a day, protein shakes being two of them, so I really only have to worry about one meal.

Since 500 cal. a day isn´t really a lot, I am stuck with a bit of chicken, some vegetables, preferably raw, and some curd cheese  nicely spiced with some fresh herbs, so, it is a very boring diet. But I don´t mind, it makes it quite easy to stick with it, now wondering about what to eat, or rather not to eat, and my stomach seems to have gotten used to the smaller portions, I don´t feel hungry all the time anymore.

Looks like the positive attitude is working. This is about the longest period of time I lasted on a diet and still feel this good. Usually after about 2 months I would start cheating here and there, sneaking in the occasional snack, and eventually fall off the wagon, so to speak.

But this time, even if, like today, I tried a bit of something I cooked for the rest of the family, I only had half of my dinner and had the other half at night, instead of eating my whole dinner anyway.

So basically I stopped lying to myself. I don´t sneak in the occasional bite if nobody is watching, like I used to. No secret eating when I´m alone. I know it’s important and I am determined to do it.

I still use my app to document everything I eat, especially because I have to keep track of my calories, and it makes life a lot easier. I can calculate my meals and make sure I don´t eat too much, and I can keep track of my protein intake, which basically is the most important bit.

My mother thinks that it is too much hassle, and that I should not do that,she probably thinks I´m obsessive, but for me it is the only way to make sure I don´t eat too much. Because as for most people, trying to estimate my calorie-intake doesn´t work. So my kitchen scales and my mobile phone are my best friends at the moment. Every meal I eat is being weighed and calculated. That gives me the security that I am doing it right.

Eventually, once I´ve lost enough weight and I will be able to exercise again, I will gradually try and eat a bit more, but for the time being, this is the best way to lose weight.

Well, I guess that´s all for now, I might write some more about my journey to a healthier body soon, so

good night folks

Mimi

 

 

8 thoughts on “A-Z Challenge day 11

  1. I think keeping track of everything is a really good idea! I do that with my glasses of water, and medication too, lol. You are doing just great 😀 (And your diet doesn’t sound boring, its simple and straightforward and gives you everything you need regards protein & vitamins)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. true, but it does get a bit monotonous, I try to throw in an occasional treat, like yesterday, I made a lasagne without the pasta, using Chicken mince and lots of vegetables, I sliced kohlrabi really thin and used it instead of the pasta. Very yummy and low calorie 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Same here 😉 I usually make enough to last a few days. Makes life easier. Especially with the kids. Not everybody likes t h e same things so sometimes it is like a hotel. 5 people with 3 different meals 😂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. 500 cal a day! Egads, woman! That’s a cup of rice in the prison camp! Go to find that wonderful dietician. I am with you. Wonderful salads! That kale stuff. Protein shake in the morning. NO SALT! That is the water retention. But lotsa water. I hate water, but I hafta do it. Yes, guys do lose it faster than women. I know. I am down 12 pounds in a month. I have no idea where it went. Maybe to Germany? My wife is helping. I am such a good salad lover. That helps. I am a chocolate addict. THAT is the killer for me. No alcohol; no chocolate. What else? I have found that soft drinks, including diet drink sales, have decreased 33% in the US in the last year. I am in there. I had one diet coke the other day. It tasted yuck. I am drinking water with flavoring, iced tea, and non-fizzy drinks. NO BEER! It is rough. But I have a goal. WE CAN DO IT!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Way to go! 12 pounds in a month I can only dream lol. But I’m hanging in there. Try to drink 2 liters of water minimum. Or black tea without sugar or milk. No Alcohol or soft drinks either. Never liked diet sodas,I can’t stand the taste. And no chocolate, that is the worst bit. I’m a chocoholic and it is torture if I have some in the house and can’t eat it. So I don’t buy any. It has gotten better since I’ve started low carb. No real cravings. Yes we can do it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

