I’m still alive!😀

Sorry I have been quiet for the last couple of weeks, but I’ve had my knee surgery on the third of june and am now at a reha-clinic having lots of physio. Because of that, I’m really busy and at night quite exhausted and in pain but it’s getting better every day 😀.

I wouldn’t even have minded doing some writing, but there is no internet connection in the rooms, so I would have to sit in the lobby with my laptop and I didn’t like that idea, since there is no proper tables and balancing the hot laptop on my freshly operated knee is not very appealing. So just a quick resumee of the last 22  days: surgery went really well, 20160607_074405.jpgthis was about 3 days after the surgery.

Stitches have been removed 8 days ago and it looks really great.

20160625_132217.jpgI took this one today 😊.

Mobility is good, I can put full weight on it and I frequently walk stairs as well to get it well excercized. Obviously there has been quite a bit of muscle waistage due to the lack of excercise in the last couple of months, but I am working hard to build them up and strengthen them. The really difficult part is that the muscles are a lot shorter than they should be. And it is quite painful to get them to stretch so I can properly straighten the leg again. But I can see improvement every day and that is the important thing. I can go swimming every day and if the weather allowes it I go for a walk.

We had awfully hot weather the last couple of days and that didn’t make it any easier, but that didn’t stop me. 😀

 

6 thoughts on “I’m still alive!😀

  1. I’m SO glad it went well! I was thinking about you and wondering how you were getting on – I wasn’t sure whether to write or not in case you felt too stressed to reply, lol! Anyway, your knee looks good 🙂 Take your time in getting better – I can’t believe you are doing stairs already! Swimming will help loads too. Good for you and lovely to hear from you. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 😊 yes, I’m soo glad it is going so well too, I was really worried… I can really say it is getting better every day. But the doctor here said that I will have to wait at least 6 months before I can have the other knee done…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, a woman down the road from me has had the same operation as you recently and she is doing well, but has to wait a while for the next op. You sound like you are a good healer so it should all be fine in the end up. I was going to say in my last comment that German hospitals seem to be better than ours, lol, we don’t get in-house physiotherapy. Someone ( a nurse) comes to the house, or the patient has to travel to the hospital (on bad legs, yes) to undergo physio!

        Like

      2. I agree the german health care isn’t too bad, you get to spend 3 weeks in a special reha -clinic either as an out patient, where they pick you up in the morning and you go home at night or you stay 3 weeks in the hospital. You get all sorts of different treatments and it is really effective as long as you are willing to put an effort into it. Sure some of it is uncomfortable and hurts but you can’t expect to get better if you don’t try. Today we have awful weather, it’s been raining most of the day so instead of going for a walk I went swimming twice, that was so much fun and it is really good for the knees…

        Like

  2. I had surgery on a Friday morning. I was kicked out on the following Monday morning! I had to find a nursing home for a week for rehab. I was home with home health and physical therapy and injections for three weeks. No stitches: stainless staples that got really hot in the sunlight while I was being wheeled around in the sun. (That happened only once!) Stitches removed in a week: 22 staples. OUCH!. You are looking good! (Your leg, that is.) Good luck there!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Jim 😆. The german health system is a lot better than we usually give it credit for. I stayed in hospital for 12 days after the surgery and went straight to a clinic for rehab. Today I am in a lot of pain, mostly in the left knee. I guess it is taking a bit of a pounding from all the excercising and climbing stairs. So I have tried to take it easier today…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

