And now for something completely different….

and no, it has nothing to do with Monty Python 😉

As I may have mentioned before ( pretty sure I have, but am just too lazy to check and make sure) I have been thinking about taking an online course for embroidery and needlework.

Last month, just before I had my surgery, I had actually booked the course, and I actually got all the material just in time as well. So, when I was in the Reha-clinic, I had a bit of time to start looking at the different stitches, and I even tried a couple of them. Each of the different moduls ( there are 7), explains different stitches and each of them is worked on different fabrics. You also work with different kinds of threads.

So, each stitch is worked in a different thread, from silks to crewel wool and it is faczinating what a difference  that makes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As you can see in the pictures, most “stitch groups ” contains 2 or more individual Stitches to make them complete, some as many as 8, so you get a lot of different textures, which comes useful when you use them in pictures. As I am only practicing them for now, all I have done is fill squares on a piece of canvas, so in the end it becomes sort of a stitch library if you want.

So far, I have finished 9 of the 12 individual stitches, and I guess I will finish the last 3 by the weekend.

I really love the colours and the shine of the threads, and I can´t wait for the next part of the course 🙂

Take care my friends

Mimi

Leave a Reply

